Labor Day Show winners announced
, 2014

Labor Day Show winners announced

The Rappahannock Art League’s 50th annual Art Exhibition/Labor Day Show opened August 31 at Rappahannock Westminster-Canterbury. The show will continue through Labor Day, Monday, September 5.

+ A | - A

Show hours are 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. through Sunday and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Labor Day.

Rappahanock Art League president Margaret Alderson and Lella Lee Edwards co-chaired the show, said Virginia Adair. Jan Ledbetter, award-winning artist and teacher, was the judge.

At a reception for artists and guests on Wednesday night, past president Johnny Hayes presented 18 awards.

David Zuck won the Best in Show and took home a silver bowl donated by Ross Christiansen of Ross’s Rings and Things.

Blue ribbons were presented to Ann Vilet, John Latell, M. Alderson and James Hazel.

Red ribbons were presented to Sarah Soderlund, Anita Baker, Rose Nygaard, Elizabeth Eddowes and K. Noffsinger.

Yellow ribbons were presented to Marilyn Jurkops, M. Van Etten, Linda Shields, Tom Norris, Johnny Hayes and Anne Wilcox.

Mel Neale won the Joachim Schoppe Memorial Award.

Mary Jo Beswick won the Jane Stouffer Williams Memorial Award.

Visitors to the Labor Day Show are invited to vote for their favorite piece of art, said Adair. At the conclusion of the show, a Viewers’ Choice Award will be announced.

The Studio Gallery at 19 North Main Street in Kilmarnock will be open during the Labor Day Show hours. The award-winning entries will be showcased in a special exhibition at the Studio Gallery during September.

Bookmark and Share

About the weekly Rappahannock Record, to Subscribe, to Contact us, to send E-mail
Box 400, 27 N. Main St., Kilmarnock, VA 22482 Tel: 804-435-1701, Fax: 804-435-2632
These pages have been visited over 14,700,000 times since first publication, July 4, 1997
Webmaster: KC Troise. All design & content on these pages ©2014, Rappahannock Record. Privacy statement