Team Mihills wins 2012 Typhoon Nationals
, 2014

Team Mihills wins 2012 Typhoon Nationals

Ron Mihills of Irvington and his sons, Rick Mihills of Annapolis and Brent Mihills of Morattico won the final three races of the two-day, five-race 2012 Cape Dory Typhoon Nationals June 22-24, hosted by Rappahannock River Yacht Club.

+ A | - A

From left, Rick, Ron and Brent Mihills display the first-place trophy.

With Brent at the helm and Rick calling tactics, the Mihills men put together a string of 3-3-1-1-1 to win the 19-boat Championship fleet convincingly, reported Diane Cook-Tench.

It was the second Nationals win for Ron and Rick, who sailed together to win the 2011 class title, said Cook-Tench. This weekend regatta marked the first time in over 20 years the three had raced together.

Including the 13-boat Corinthian fleet, 32 boats competed in the regatta.

Among other results, Doug Dorsey with Lud Kimbrough placed second in the Championship fleet (2-2-5-4-3). Chuck Carmichael with Bob Fleck finished third (1-7-2-8-2).

In the Corinthian fleet, Jack McKin with Alison Gay took first (3-3-2-3-1); Graham Shivers with Gregg Shivers, second (5-2-4-5-2); and Harry Wells with Jane Wells, third (4-8-1-6-5).

Teams came from as far as Michigan, North Carolina and Washington, D.C., to compete, according to event chairman Ron Mihills. John McCarthy served as the principal race sponsor.

The three-day event included workshops with sailmaker Jerry Latell and a party hosted by Ullman Virginia-Latell Sails on Friday; dinner on Saturday; and an awards party on Sunday.

Over 50 volunteers helped stage the regatta, making it the premier Typhoon event in the U.S. said Ron Mihills.

Complete results are available at, or

Bookmark and Share

About the weekly Rappahannock Record, to Subscribe, to Contact us, to send E-mail
Box 400, 27 N. Main St., Kilmarnock, VA 22482 Tel: 804-435-1701, Fax: 804-435-2632
These pages have been visited over 14,700,000 times since first publication, July 4, 1997
Webmaster: KC Troise. All design & content on these pages ©2014, Rappahannock Record. Privacy statement