2013 Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta Winners
, 2014

2013 Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta Winners

The annual Hospice Turkey Shoot Regatta was held October 12 and 13. Rappahannock River Yacht Club in Irvington hosted the event.

+ A | - A

Turkey Shoot Regatta sailors contended with strong waves and rainy weather. Peter Knight and crew aboard Salute (left), placed fifth overall in the Hospice fleet and third in division 2. Ned Crockett and crew aboard Ladybug placed first in the Typhoon fleet. Photo by Picture Me

Races were held on the Rappahannock River off Carter’s Creek and the Corrottoman River. Hal Smith served as principal race officer and Arabella Denvir served as jury chair.

Some 94 boats were registered for the two-day series, including 71 entries in the Hospice fleet and 23 entries in the Typhoon fleet.

Overall winners in the Hospice Fleet, according to John McConnico, were first, Mad Hatter, skippered by Bob Fleck; second, Trilogy, skippered by Wayland Rennie; and third, Play It Again, skippered by Sam Marshall. All three skippers placed first in both Saturday and Sunday races.

Finishing first on Saturday and second on Sunday, Ned Crockett placed first in the Typhoon division aboard Ladybug. Branch Crockett served as crew.

Division winners include:

Division 1, Red ( 8 boats)—first, Bob Fleck, Mad Hatter; second, Windblown, Frank Miller; and third, Jim Haynie, Serene Zelda.

Division 2, White (7 boats)—first, Wayland Rennie, Trilogy; second, Larry Baun, Base Runner; and third, Peter Knight, Salute.

Division 3, Dark Blue (11 boats)—first, Sam Marshall, Play It Again; second, Norm Faulkner, Country Woman; and third, Tom Richardson, Serene.

Division 4, Orange (7 boats)—first, Joran and Lynn Gendell, Elixer; second, Reginald Mason, John B; and third, Randy Alderks, Eroica.

Division 5, Burgandy (9 boats)—first, Deidre McSweeney; Curlew III; second, Jim Engle, Grey Fox; and third, Gary Freeburg, Peloton.

Division 6, Light Green (10 boats)—first, Donald and Suzanne Scheu, Abino; second, Steven Smith, Checko; and third, Richard Hazlegrove, Quest.

Division 7, Pink (10 boats)—first, Dwight Timm, Merrywood; second, Steve Shaw, Sundancer; and third, Robin Meigel, Pacem.

Division 8, Black (9 boats)—first, Kirk McQuire, Skye; second, Tom Blencowe, Lt’l Elixir; and third, David Herndon, Wayward Wind.

Division 9, Typhoon, Yellow (23 boats)—first, Ned Crockett, Ladybug; second, Ron Mihills, Anthem; and third, Sissy Crowther, Ad Astra.

Bookmark and Share

About the weekly Rappahannock Record, to Subscribe, to Contact us, to send E-mail
Box 400, 27 N. Main St., Kilmarnock, VA 22482 Tel: 804-435-1701, Fax: 804-435-2632
These pages have been visited over 14,700,000 times since first publication, July 4, 1997
Webmaster: KC Troise. All design & content on these pages ©2014, Rappahannock Record. Privacy statement