, 2015

Four races shape up following
extended ballot deadline for
May 6 town elections

by Audrey Thomasson

LANCASTER—At least four races will be decided in May 6 town elections locally.

+ A | - A

Four new candidates applied in the final hours before the March 5 extended filing deadline to get on the ballot, according to Lancaster voter registrar Susan Jett.

In Kilmarnock, incumbent Raymond Booth and council member Mae Umphlett are running for mayor.

Five candidates are vying for three seats on council, including incumbents Shawn Donahue and Emerson Gravatt, as well as Chris Allen, James Evans Sr. and former mayor Curtis Smith.

In Irvington, four candidates are seeking three council seats, including incumbents Jerry Latell, Mike Merrill and Wayne Nunnally, as well as former mayor William Evans.

Three candidates filed in a special election to fill two years remaining on a four-year Irvington term, including James Haynie, Michelle Lybarger and Frances Westbrook.

In White Stone, councilman Randy Reeves filed for mayor. Incumbents Irving Brittingham and Joseph Salikis filed for three open seats on council.

The deadline to register to vote in the May 6 election is Monday, April 14, said Jett.

Citizens may register at the registrar’s office on the lower floor of the County Administration Building, 8311 Mary Ball Road, Lancaster.

Bookmark and Share

About the weekly Rappahannock Record, to Subscribe, to Contact us, to send E-mail
Box 400, 27 N. Main St., Kilmarnock, VA 22482 Tel: 804-435-1701, Fax: 804-435-2632
These pages have been visited over 14,700,000 times since first publication, July 4, 1997
Webmaster: KC Troise. All design & content on these pages ©2014, Rappahannock Record. Privacy statement